Guidelines for the certification of physical containment facilities

These guidelines describe the requirements for the certification of each level and type of physical containment facility as per section 90 of the Gene Technology Act 2000 (the Act).

Physical containment level 1 (PC1)

Physical containment level 2 (PC2)

Physical containment level 3 (PC3)

For facilities certified or re-certified prior to December 2022, use the individual guidelines for each facility type. For facilities certified or re-certified from 1 December 2022, use the guidelines for certification of a physical containment level 3 facility.

Physical containment level 4 (PC4)

We aim to provide documents in an accessible format. If you're having problems using a document with your accessibility tools, please contact us for help.

Most recent publication date:
Resource type: