The Act establishes GTECCC to provide advice on the request of the Gene Technology Regulator (the Regulator) or the Legislative and Governance Forum on Gene Technology on a number of matters, including:

  • ethical issues relating to gene technology;
  • the need for policy principles, policy guidelines, codes of practice and technical and procedural guidelines in relation to genetically modified organisms (GMOs) and genetically modified (GM) products, and the content of such principles, guidelines and codes;
  • community consultation in respect of the process for applications for licences covering dealings that involve the intentional release of a GMO into the environment;
  • risk communication matters in relation to dealings that involve the intentional release of a GMO into the environment; and
  • matters of general concern in relation to GMOs or matters identified by the Regulator in relation to applications made under the Gene Technology Act 2000 (the Act)
GTECCC comprises 12 members and one expert adviser appointed by the Minister for Aged Care and Senior Australians and Minister for Youth and Sport, Senator the Hon Richard Colbeck.

Members must have skills or experience in relevant fields including community consultation, risk communication, ethics, law and environmental issues. GTECCC must also include a person who is a member of the Gene Technology Technical Advisory Committee (GTTAC) and a person who is a member of the Australian Health Ethics Committee.

Members of GTECCC are subject to strict disclosure of interest provisions which are contained in the Gene Technology Regulations 2001 (the Regulations). The Regulations also describe the way in which matters are to be resolved by the Committee, reporting requirements, and procedures for convening meetings of the Committee.

GTECCC members 2020-2023

  • Associate Prof Judith Jones, Chair
  • Prof Rachel Ankeny
  • Dr Paul Downey
  • Ms Paula Fitzgerald
  • Ms Jaden Jenifer Hastings, expert adviser
  • Rabbi Dr Aviva Kipen
  • Dr Rachel Nowak
  • Dr Gabrielle O'Sullivan
  • Dr Kelly Pearce
  • Prof Stephen Robson
  • Dr Robert Sward AM
  • Dr Lynn Woodward
PDF version of GTECCC members 2020-23 Biographies (PDF 581 KB)
Word version of GTECCC members 2020-23 Biographies (Word 4673 KB)

GTECCC commenced on 1 January 2008 following amendments to the Act in June 2007and replaced the former Gene Technology Community Consultative Committee (GTCCC) and the Gene Technology Ethics Committee (GTEC).

GTECCC Communiques
GTECCC Publications

Content within this section